The Clergy Of England

Before Us Stands Yesterday
Spire 1: Salisbury Cathedral
Spire 2: Lichfield Cathedral
Along The Pilgrim's Way
Spire 3: Norwich Cathedral
Spire 4: Truro Cathedral
Hearts of Oak
Spire 5: St Mary Redcliffe
Spire 6: Chichester Cathedral
Fair England's Shore
Spire 7: Sheffield Cathedral Church
Musicks Plus
Other Abbeys And Cathedrals
Parishes Far And Wide
The Clergy Of England
Spires Links

If you've ever wondered how the clergy hierarchy works, Seven Strong Spires presents this simplified chart. The general standings are the same, all over, but the example we are using here is for The Diocese of Lichfield.
Many thanks to them for providing this guide

Clergy Hierarchy

Archbishop Presides over and administers a province; there are two in England: Canterbury and York with Canterbury being the senior. The Province of York covers the dioceses of Newcastle, Durham, Carlisle, York, Ripon, Bradford, Sheffield, Southwell, Manchester, Liverpool and Blackburn.

The Province of Canterbury covers the remaining dioceses: Derby, Lincoln, Lichfield, Birmingham, Worcester, Hereford, Gloucester, Peterborough, Ely, Leicester, Coventry, Norwich, St Edmundsbury and Ipswich, Chelmsford, St Albans, Oxford, London, Southwark, Canterbury, Rochester, Portsmouth, Winchester, Guildford, Chichester, Bristol, Exeter, Truro Bath and Wells, Salisbury.
Bishop Responsible for a single diocese.
Suffragan or Area Bishop Assistant to the Bishop: in the Lichfield Diocese there are three area bishops: Wolverhampton, Shrewsbury and Stafford.
Dean Responsible for a Cathedral and assisted by a Chapter of ordained and lay people.
Archdeacon Responsible for an Archdeaconry under the Bishop with particular responsibility for personnel matters: the Lichfield diocese comprises the Archdeaconries of Lichfield, Stoke, Salop and Wolverhampton.
Canon A member of Cathedral clergy. Also an honorary title for parish priests - usually known as Honorary Canons or, as in Lichfield, Prebendaries.
Rural Dean Usually a title held by a Vicar or Rector who has responsibility to the Archdeacon for a group of parishes (the Rural Deanery).
Rector, Vicar, Chaplain A priest in a parish or for an institution, e.g. Prison Chaplain.
Curate Assistant to parish clergy.